Steering Committee

To begin the planning process, a strategic planning steering committee, as well as four task forces (Clinical Care, Research, Education, and Campus Life) and two subcommittees (Translational Research and Student Life), have been assembled.  We are partnering with NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital and all of Columbia  University to identify ways to optimize our goal of being indisputably in the top five medical schools and arguably the best in our educational, research, and clinical programs.



Amelia Alverson,  Vice President of Development, CUMC




Cory Abate-Shen, PhD,  Michael and Stella Chernow Professor of Urologic Sciences, Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center



Bobbi Berkowitz, PhD,  Dean, School of Nursing




Louis Bigliani, MD,Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery




Eugene Braunwald, MD,  Distinguished Hersey Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School




Andrea Califano, PhD,  Director, Joint Centers for Systems Biology





Andria Castellanos,  Senior Vice President & COO, Milstein, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital




Angela Christiano, PhD,  Professor of Dermatology




Jack Cioffi, MD, Chair, Department of Ophthalmology





Henry Colecraft, PhD, Associate Professor of Physiology & Cellular Biophysics





Mary D’Alton, MD,  Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology





Karina Davidson, PhD,  Director, Center for Behavioural Cardiovascular Health





Emme DeLand,  Senior Vice President, Strategy, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital




Ronald Drusin, MD,  Vice Dean for Education, P&S




Kenneth A. Forde, MD,  Professor Emeritus of Clinical Surgery and Special Lecturer





Linda Fried, MD, MPH,  Dean, Mailman School of Public Health




Sankar Ghosh, PhD,  Chair, Department of Microbiology




Kevin Hammeran,  Senior Vice President & COO of Administration, MSCHONY, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital




Christopher Henderson, PhD,  Director of Columbia Stem Cell Initiative





Martha Hooven,  Vice Dean, Administration – P&S




Thomas Jessell, PhD,  Professor of Motor Neuron Disorders in Neuroscience




Gerard Karsenty, MD, PhD,  Chair, Department of Genetics & Development




Robert Kass, PhD,  Chair, Department of Pharmacology, Vice Dean for Research, P&S




Robert Kelly, MD,  President & COO, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital




Ira Lamster, DDS, MMSc,  Dean, College of Dental Medicine




Donald Landry, MD, PhD,  Chair, Department of Medicine




Rafael Lantigua, MD,  Special Advisor for Community Health Affairs, CUMC




Douglas Levy,  Executive Director of Communications & Public Affairs, CUMC




Jeffrey Lieberman, MD,  Chair, Department of Psychiatry




Thomas Maniatis, PhD,  Chair, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics




Andrew Marks, MD,  Chair, Department of Physiology & Cellular Biophysics




Richard Mayeux, MD,  Chair, Department of Neurology




Mark McDougle,  
Senior Vice President & COO, CUMC




Lisa Mellman, MD,  Senior Associate Dean, Student Affairs, P&S




Michael Purdy, PhD,  Executive Vice President for Research, CU





Joanne Quan,  Senior Vice President & CFO, CUMC




Lawrence Schwartz, MD,  
Chair, Department of Radiology





Steven Shea, MD,  Senior Vice Dean, P&S




Michael Shelanski, MD, PhD,  Chair, Department of Pathology




Steven Siegelbaum, PhD,  
Chair, Department of Neuroscience





Craig Smith, MD,  Chair, Department of Surgery





Robert Solomon, MD,  Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery





Lawrence Stanberry, MD, PhD,  Chair, Department of Pediatrics




Megan Sykes, MD,  Professor of Medicine & Professor of Microbiology & Immunology and Surgical Sciences




Anne Taylor, MD,  Vice Dean, Academic Affairs, P&S





Margaret Wood, MD,  Chair, Department of Anesthesiology




Maurice Wright, MD,  Senior Associate Dean, CUMC & Medical Director, Hospital