Curriculum Overview

The Columbia Curriculum

Curriculum Overview


Beginning with the class of 2013, Columbia launched an innovative, flexible new curriculum that reorganizes the academic structure of medical education by dispensing with the old designations of first, second, third, and fourth years. Those categories are replaced by three major segments in the restructured curriculum: Fundamentals, Major Clinical Year (MCY), and Differentiation & Integration (D&I).

This new curriculum takes advantage of the latest knowledge about how adults learn and is designed to inspire students to take ownership of their own learning. It fosters the team-based approach that is an essential element of medicine today, while at the same time allows students to explore their individual goals in medicine.








Expand view of this graphic by clicking here.


  • Find Columbia Doctors