2011 Irving Scholars Announced

Award Luncheon Also Celebrates Landmark of 100 Scholars
December 23, 2010

Top row: 2011-14 Irving Scholars: Drs. Hannah Wunsch, Marcella Walker, Michael Yin, Jason Wright, P. Christian Schulze, and Edward Huey; Bottom row: Herbert and Florence Irving.


The Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research at Columbia has announced this year´s class of Irving Scholars. Founded in 1987 by Herbert and Florence Irving, the program rewards individuals based on submission of proposals reflecting independent, well-designed, and well-developed initiatives in clinical investigation.

The 2011 Irving Scholars, who each receive a three-year career development award, were announced at a luncheon on Nov. 22, 2010, held at the Faculty Club. In addition to celebrating the six new scholars, the luncheon commemorated Herbert Irving’s birthday and the milestone of achieving 100 named Irving Scholars.

The 2011 Irving Scholars and the titles of their research projects are:

Edward D. Huey, MD, Herbert Irving Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology, “Investigation of the Dopamine System in Frontotemporal Dementia.”

P. Christian Schulze, MD, PhD, Florence Irving Assistant Professor of Medicine, “Skeletal Muscle and Myocardial Lipotoxicity in Heart Failure.”

Marcella Donovan Walker, MD, Herbert Irving Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, “Cardiovascular Effects of Vitamin D Deficiency.”

Jason D. Wright, MD, Florence Irving Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, “Comparative Effectiveness of Minimally Invasive Oncologic Surgery.”

Hannah Wunsch, MD, MSc, Herbert Irving Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Epidemiology, “Treatment Intensity and Outcomes for Critically Ill Patients.”

Michael T. Yin, MD, MS, Florence Irving Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, “Vitamin D: Effects on Bone Mass, Muscle Strength, and Immune Function in HIV-infected women.”    




  • Find Columbia Doctors