The Steven Z. Miller Student Clinician’s Ceremony

The Steven Z. Miller Student Clinician’s Ceremony marks the transition for students from classroom teaching and the preclerkship curriculum to clinical education in the hospital and ambulatory settings. It has four primary components: recognition of outstanding teaching by residents; team building for the new clinical students and the presentation of their original class video; a charge from a faculty member selected by the class as an outstanding role model; and recitation of the Hippocratic Oath.

The ceremony serves as the culmination of a series of preparatory events aimed to foster teamwork amongst the students, familiarize them with their role and that of a multidisciplinary staff in the clerkship setting, build technical skills, facilitate the development of a professional identity, and increase team building between the classes and with faculty.

Dr. Steven Z. Miller, initial faculty advisor for this event, pediatrician, colleague, and friend, died in a tragic small plane crash in Kirksville, Missouri in October 2004. The official name of the ceremony has been changed to honor Dr. Miller’s memory.

Class of 2016 Transitions From Classroom to Clinic

Photo: Amelia Panico

Students in the P&S Class of 2016 celebrated the beginning of their major clinical year with the Steven Z. Miller Student Clinician’s Ceremony, held Jan. 3.

The ceremony, which began at P&S in 1998, marks the transition from classroom instruction to an environment where students learn at the bedside and the patient is the center of focus.

“This is why you came to medical school,” said Dean Lee Goldman, MD. “The major clinical year is hard; it’s a lot of responsibility. It’s a real shift from wondering if you’ve learned something to worrying if you did the right thing for somebody else. For me, the start of MCY was truly the biggest change in my entire life.”

Student and Resident Awards

The ceremony also recognized outstanding students, residents, and teachers with the presentation of teaching and learning awards.

Members of the P&S Class of 2015 awarded the Major Clinical Year Outstanding Teacher Award to Noel I. Robin, MD, Chair of Medicine at Stamford Hospital

The Class of 2014 also selected six residents to receive the Arnold P. Gold Foundation’s Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards for exemplifying the spirit of humanism in their teaching and patient care: 

  • Samuel Bernard, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian-Medicine);
  • Brian Block, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian-Medicine-Medicine); 
  • Maureen Burke, MD (Stamford-Ob/Gyn);
  • Ismar Dizdarevic, MD  (St. Luke’s-Orthopedic Surgery);
  • Matthew Pianko, MD, (NewYork-Presbyterian-Medicine); and
  • Emily Vail, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian-Anesthesiology).

Six other finalists for the award were honored in a Circle of Excellence: 

  • Jessica George, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian Pediatrics);
  • Bryan McColgan, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian-Medicine); 
  • Andrew Geneslaw, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian/St. Luke's Pediatrics);
  • Moeun Son, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian Ob/Gyn); 
  • Chantae Sullivan-Pike, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian Ob/Gyn);
  • Michaela Restivo, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian Medicine);
  • Azeesat Babajide, MD (NewYork-Presbyterian Psychiatry)

The Class of 2015 presented Daniel J. Goldberg, PhD, professor of pharmacology and neuroscience,, professor of clinical pathology and cell biology, with the Fundamentals Outstanding Teacher Award.

Among the Class of 2016, Samuel Porter received the Greg Grove Award for his efforts in promoting activities that provide relaxation for busy students.  Caitlin J. Alexander received the Karl H. Perzin Excellence in Pathology Award.