Class Day

Class Day, traditionally held the day before commencement, is an awards ceremony honoring graduating students. P&S has more than 40 named prizes endowed by generous gifts from donors who wish to recognize the people named on the awards. These prizes recognize all areas from academic excellence to compassionate patient care to contributing to the community to outstanding leadership. In addition, P&S recognizes the top 15 percent of the class selected for membership in Alpha Omega Alpha, the national medical honor society, for their outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service, and the 17 percent of the class selected for membership in the Gold Humanism Honor Society for their humanism, compassion, and care.

Graduation Prizes and Awards

AAN Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology For excellence in Neurology
Doctor Harry S. Altman Award For outstanding achievement in Pediatric Ambulatory Care
Alumni Association Award For outstanding interest in and devotion to the College of Physicians & Surgeons and its Alumni Association
The Virginia P. Apgar Award For excellence in Anesthesiology
Michael H. Aranow Memorial Prize For best exemplifying the caring and humane qualities of the practicing physician
Herbert J. Bartelstone Award For exceptional accomplishments in Pharmacology
The Edward J. Bello, M.D.
Listening Award
To a graduating student who best portrays the art of listening to patients, colleagues, and self in practicing the chosen field of Medicine
The Behrens Memorial Prize in Ophthalmology For an outstanding graduate entering Ophthalmology
Robert G. Bertsch Prize To a graduate who best emulates Dr. Bertsch’s ideals of the humane surgeon
Coakley Memorial Prize For outstanding achievement in Otolaryngology
Titus Munson Coan Prize For the best essay in Biological Sciences
Thomas F. Cock Prize For excellence in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Rosamond Kane Cummins ’52 Award For an outstanding graduate entering Orthopedics with academic excellence, sensitivity, kindness, devotion to patients, and the fine human qualities that she exemplified
The Endocrine Society's Medical Student Achievement Award For achievement in Endocrinology
Outstanding Student in Family Medicine Award For outstanding academic achievement in the area of Family Medicine, initiative in community health service, and understanding and commitment to the principles of Family Medicine
Daniel J. Fink, M.D. Memorial Prize For best exemplifying Dr. Fink's enthusiasm for the study and practice of medicine
Frederick P. Gay Memorial Award For achievement in Microbiology
Louis Gibofsky Memorial Prize For research in Nephrology, Renal Immunology, Renal Physiology, or Transplant Immunology
Glasgow-Rubin Achievement Award For women students graduating in the top 10 percent of their class
Doctor Charles E. Hamilton Award For excellence in Pulmonary disease
The Izard Prize for Research in Cardiology For excellence in Cardiology
The Jerry Jacob Prize in Pediatrics For excellence in the differential diagnosis and treatment of disorders in children
Janeway Prize For the highest achievement and abilities in the graduating class
Albert B. Knapp Scholarship Awarded at the conclusion of the third year to the medical student evaluated by the Medical Faculty to have achieved the highest scholarship in the first three years
Doctor Harold Lamport
Biomedical Research Prize
For excellence in research
John K. Lattimer Prize in Urology For the outstanding essay in Urology
The Samuel and Beatrice Leib Memorial Prize in Ophthalmology For an outstanding graduate entering Ophthalmology
Barbara Liskin Memorial Award in Psychiatry For best exemplifying the empathy, scholarship, and excellence exhibited by Dr. Barbara Liskin
The Robert F. Loeb Award For excellence in Clinical Medicine
F. Lowenfish Prize in Dermatology For creative research in Dermatology
Admiral David Willard Lyon Award For outstanding academic achievement by a student serving in the Armed Forces of our country
Alfred M. Markowitz
Endowment for Scholars
For best exemplifying Dr. Markowitz’s dedication to patient care, teaching, and scholarship
The Leonard Marmor Surgical
Arthritis Foundation Award
For outstanding academic achievements
Doctor Cecil G. Marquez B.A.L.S.O. Student Award For outstanding contribution to the Black and Latino Student Organization and the minority community
Edith and Denton McKane Memorial Award For outstanding research in Ophthalmology
James M. McKiernan, M.D. Prize for Compassionate Care To a graduating student most capable of combining humanism medical knowledge and compassion
Medical Society of the State of New York Community Service Award To a graduating student for outstanding community service
Doctor Harold Lee Meierhof Memorial Prize For outstanding achievement in Pathology
Doctors William Nastuk, Beatrice Seegal, and Konrad Hsu Award To a graduating student who has demonstrated successful laboratory collaboration between student and faculty
Marie Nercessian Memorial Award For exhibiting care, unusual concern, and dedication to helping sick people
New York Orthopedic Hospital Award For outstanding performance in research and clinical work
The Office of Student Affairs Outstanding Service to P&S Award For outstanding contribution to improving the quality of life of his or her peers while at P&S
Donald M. Palatucci Award For a student in the fall of his/her fourth year who is in the upper one-third of the class and who exemplifies through activities in art, music, and literature that living and learning go together, and whose interactions with patients reflect kindness, humor, compassion, candor, and zest for life
Joseph Garrison Parker Award For best exemplifying through activities in art, music, literature, and the public interest the fact that living and learning go together 
Samuel W. Rover and Lewis Rover Award For outstanding achievement in research in Anatomy and Cell Biology
Samuel W. Rover and Lewis Rover Award For outstanding achievement in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
Samuel W. Rover and Lewis Rover Award For outstanding achievement in Genetics and Development
The Doctors Robert A. Savitt and George H. McCormack Award For best exemplifying Dr. George McCormack’s medical skill, consideration, understanding, and compassion
The Rebecca A. Schwartz Memorial Prize For achievement in Pediatric Cardiology
The Helen M. Sciarra Prize in Neurology For outstanding achievement in Neurology
Aura E. Severinghaus Scholar In recognition of superior academic achievement
The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Award For excellence in the specialty of Emergency Medicine
The Miriam Berkman Spotnitz Award For excellence in research of neoplastic diseases
The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award Presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation for excellence in science and compassion in patient care
William Perry Watson Prize in Pediatrics For excellence in Pediatrics
Doctor William Raynor Watson Memorial Award For excellence in Psychiatry throughout four years of medical school
Doctor Allen O. Whipple Memorial Prize For outstanding performance in Surgery
Sigmund L. Wilens Prize For excellence in Pathology