P&S Honors

Honors awarded P&S faculty in 2009-2010 include the following:

Andrew Blitzer, MD, professor of clinical otolaryngology and clinical dentistry-oral surgery, received the de Roaldes Award from the American Laryngological Association

Myron Hofer, MD, Sackler Institute Professor of Developmental Psychobiology, received the 2009 Senior Investigator Award from the International Society for Developmental Psychobiology

Gerard Karsenty, MD, professor and chair, Genetics and Development, received the 2010 Richard Lounsbery Prize for Biology and Medicine from the French Academy of Sciences

Guohua Li, MD, professor of anesthesiology and professor of epidemiology in the Mailman School of Public Health, received the John Paul Stapp Award from the Aerospace Medical Association

Andrew Marks, MD, professor of medicine and pharmacology, received the 2010 Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award from the American Society for Clinical Investigation

Richard Mayeux, MD, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Professor of Neurology, Psychiatry and Epidemiology, received the Henry Wisniewski Lifetime Achievement Award in Alzheimer’s Disease Research from the Alzheimer’s Association

John Morrow, MD, instructor in clinical medicine, received the 2009 Lewis Katz Cardiovascular Research Prize for a Young Investigator

Jeffrey Newhouse, MD, professor of radiology, received the Gold Medal from the Society of Uroradiology

Serge Przedborski, MD, PhD, professor of neurology, received the President’s Distinguished Service Award from the Movement Disorder Society

David Roye, MD, professor of clinical pediatric orthopedic surgery, received the 2009 Inspiration Award from the When U Dream a Dream Foundation

Henry Spotnitz, MD, George H. Humphreys II Professor of Surgery, received the 2009 Alfred M. Markowitz Service Award from the Society of Practitioners of Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center

Robert Taub, MD, PhD, professor of medicine, received the 2009 Pioneer Award from the Mesothelioma Applied Research Foundation